Tags

, , , ,

20150510_133522Book Buying Bans… Honestly, it sounds like something children and teenagers give to themselves. Grownups, adults, they buy the books they want to buy, when they do, or don’t they?
After that provoking remark, lets discuss this a little further.

You could ban yourself from buying books for two reasons, as I see it. One, because you don’t have the money and you end up lending money or stealing money or murdering for money because you have to have a certain book (or you steal the book itself which sounds easier but still crazy). Not likely really, but still, you can buy books when you are not really affording it, and that is bad. Bills and food should come in the first place.

The other reason could be that you already have way too many books at home or you have too many unread books already. That is almost two reasons and not one only.

If you have way too many books you could always make room for more by giving books away to charity, friends or family, or you could store them in cages in a storage room or you could simply buy more bookshelves. If you don’t have room for bookshelves you could always store the books on the floor or in the kitchen cabinets or in other strange places. Not that I do. But it is always a matter of prioritizing and how pleasant you want your home to be (too many books make it look way too crowded). I prefer storing books in bookshelves and bookshelves only. And I have no more room for neither bookshelves nor books, so I should probably think about a book buying ban.

But instead, I just (today actually!) gave 30 books to the Red Cross instead. Books I already read or didn’t want to read. You coud always get rid of old books when you buy new ones.

The other – third – reason is that you have way too many unread books, and I have to sign that one. I propably should think about a book buying ban because of all unread books I already own. BUT! And it is a big but.

Books are expenditure items; they get bought easily and for reasonable prizes and there’s always new books coming out. If you don’t buy a book when it is in the store, you will miss it. It might come to the second hand store eventually, or if it is becoming a classic it might be reprinted.

But most books come and go like butterflies, living only for hours or days.
Therefore, I think you could and should buy a book when you want it, if you want to read it, book ban or not.

But there is another matter to discuss and that is the library. If you for some reason or another do not want to buy books right now, you could always borrow them and read them. As long as you do not have books unread at home! Or?

(I borrow a lot even though I have so many books at home, and that is my main reason for not reading my own books; I keep borrowing books from the library foolish enough, until I read more library books than books of my own.)

Anyways, books in the library also have a short lifetime, even though it is far longer than in the bookstore, books get elimenated from the shelves if they are too old or if “nobody” is borrowing them. And so, libraries are a good alternative but not the best or the only option.

Then we have the e-books that do not take any physical place but still are buyable. I am not much for e-books myself, but they are an option – and they are easier to sneak around the book buying ban because of the lack of physical place. Still, they do cost money – often more than physical books.

I could give myself a book buying ban but I am already before very restricted when it comes to buying books due to my economial situation, hence I don’t have to bother about a book buying ban, although I am tempted to set up some sort of rules because I have over 1000 books at home and I haven’t read even half of them… But there’s always the matter of books coming and going and you wanting to read them and them tempting you, luring you into buying them…

The easiest way should be to stop reading altogether, but that would be too sad…

