Tags

Last Sunday (June 15th) a great musician passed away. He died in a diving accident taking place during last Saturday (June 14th). I’m not really sure what happened, but when his diving companions pulled him out of the water and took him to hospital it was too late. He was only 44 years old and he left his wife and his two children behind. His name was Esbjörn Svensson and he was a great jazz pianist and a great musician. As far as I know, he and the whole Esbjörn Svensson trio, or E.S.T. for short, was famous also outside of Sweden, so maybe he’s well known in your country as well. Here’s their official site.

I’ve only got one CD with Esbjörn Svensson trio, but it’s a really good one I got from my brother as a gift a couple of years back: Winter in Venice (awarded with a Swedish grammy).

(All links above lead to English sites where you can find more information.)

Thank you, Esbjörn Svensson for all your great music. RIP.

 

