Tags

, , , ,

It’s hard to stick to routines of writing and painting when there’s so much going on in my private life, such distractions (pleasant but still distractions). I wouldn’t want to be without them, though. I’m not writing much fiction these days, and so I’m not updating my writing blog as much as I used to; still, I try to update at least once a week. The same goes for my creative harmony blog.

I’m still listening to much music, though, and I’m enjoying it as much as ever! I’ve taken a step back into my small but fine collection of CDs, rediscovered my CD with David Sylvian and Robert Fripp which is called The First Day. Since I really do like their collaboration’s CD, I’ve started searching for more music made by them. I’ve discovered that David Sylvian has quite an impressive discography with lots of CDs (and so has Robert Fripp), solo works as well as collaborations with other artists.

Sylvian has also been a member of the band Japan – clearly with influences from the very same country of Japan. I guess his band was the reason why the Japanese band which wanted the name Japan for their group back in 1985 had to go with X Japan instead.

Sylvian has been an active artist since 1974, Fripp since 1968, and the band Japan was active from 1978 to 1982. Both Sylvian and Fripp are still active despite their high age (50 and 62), or as I would say, they’re still young and have plenty of time to produce new and exciting music for me and other fans to listen to.

I guess The First Day is a love or hate object, either you love their music or you hate it. Either way, please don’t hesitate to check it out. It’s a mix of rock and alternative music, or as they’ve written on Wikipedia: “It’s a combination of Sylvian’s deep, thoughtful lyrics with funk, techno and hard hitting progressive rock music.”

